Skip to content

Bayside High reunion

November 8, 2008

We all know I love a good theme party. And, really, who doesn’t love “Saved by the Bell”? So I thought, why not combine my two loves and have a delightful “SBTB”-themed party with my friends? And I did. I went as far to design and print my own sweatshirt, which read “I’m so excited… I’m so excited… I’m so SCARED!” on the front and “Bayside High Class of ’93” on the back.  Classy, no? (Obviously I was going as Jessie Spano from the caffeine freakout episode, “Jessie’s Song.”) I forced each of my friends to come dressed as various characters, or at least in the “SBTB” style. I made an abundance of mix CDs of songs that were popular between 1989 and 1993, when “Saved by the Bell” was on the air. 

AC Slater and Jessie Spano.

 I went all out… as usual. I even broke out my hair crimper! I’m sorry, okay? I’m a child of the 90s. Anyway, it ended up being one of my favorite parties of the year. My friends were great about dressing up and playing the part. I took a fillion pictures and even made makeshift opening credits starring us (too embarrassing to post to the public). So, in case you want to throw your own “Saved by the Bell” soiree, here are a few tips from me:

* Enforce the dress code! It’s way more fun (and provides far more photo opportunities) if your guests come dressed up. Don’t let anyone in the door who’s not fully decked! Key costume elements: neon anything, big hair, leggings, denim jackets, jelly shoes and jewelry, stripes and big floral patterns, headbands, HAMMER PANTS!

* Music is key. I used RockontheNet.com to find the most popular songs between 89-93 and put the best ones into a playlist to blast during the party. Here are a few of my selections:

 

 

* I own the “Saved by the Bell” board game from 1992. It’s pretty epic. If you have it too, you can get that out and ask each other trivia questions from the show as a party game. If you don’t have it and want it, check Amazon and eBay for fairly cheap used games.

* Get your DVDs ready! I put my “SBTB” DVDs on in the background and just muted them while the music was on. It adds that extra Bayside High atmosphere that everyone loves so much.

My friends and I as the Bayside High gang!

Have you had a “SBTB” party? Send me your pictures and tips at christinalivesthemovies@gmail.com!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

