Skip to content

you’re still here? – wilmington, north carolina

March 7, 2009

Today I spent seven hours at Wilmington International Airport and another four on a plane flying to Portland, ME. Why, you ask? Because I could.

Tessie got up and left around 4:00am, and I slept restlessly til 7, when I got up, showered, ate breakfast, did all my final packing business, and reluctantly checked out of the Country Inn around 9:00. I took a shuttle to the airport, and the driver talked my ear off about how much crazy stuff you see as a cab driver, and how he lives two doors down from Chad Michael Murray and Chad’s fiance Kenzie Dalton. Interesting guy. I gave him a big tip for being so friendly in the morning – and for not nearly killing me like our first cabbie, Bill. Good old – really old – Bill.

I made it through airport security fairly painlessly, because absolutely no one else was going through at the same time. (Although I did make them hand-inspect all of my Polaroid stuff – I’m paranoid!) I got to my gate about two hours before my flight, so I read Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert. About half an hour before my plane was supposed to board, a clerk announced that the flight was overbooked and they were looking for someone to give up a seat in exchange for a free roundtrip ticket to/from anywhere US Airways flies. I jumped at the chance – I was flying by myself, and didn’t have to be home by any specific time. Pretty good deal – my new flight was to leave at 2:30pm and get me into Portland by 8:40, when my parents and brother would pick me up.

I got a quick snack and a magazine, occupying myself for a while. At one point I looked up and noticed who was sitting behind me – Ashley Rickards, who plays Sam (the angsty teen Brooke takes in) on One Tree Hill. I said hi and everything, but just then she was paged to board her flight, which she clearly hadn’t realized was already boarding. She and her mother, who were traveling together, rushed to catch their flight to New York – therefore, no picture, but it was pretty cool to meet her.

A few minutes before my next flight was supposed to board, the clerks once again announced that the flight was overbooked, and would anyone mind giving up their seat in exchange for a free roundtrip ticket? I nearly tripped over myself in my rush to the counter. Once again I volunteered my seat, received another free roundtrip ticket voucher, and was guaranteed a seat on the 4:19 flight, which would still get me into Portland at 8:40. Perfect!

I continued to read and fiddle with my iPod until the plane boarded, and then we took a quick hop to Charlotte, where I popped out to grab a frozen yogurt at TCBY before re-boarding and flying back to Portland. On the plane I watched an episode of It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia and couldn’t help but laugh out loud – it’s episode 309, the origin of “Night Man” and “Day Man” (if you don’t know what I’m talking about – find out, your life will be improved). I’m sure people thought I was crazy, but that episode is killer.

All in all, pretty decent day for me. I was exhausted when I landed, and not that excited to be in Maine instead of North Carolina, but I got off the plane with a tan and the promise of two free flights in the future. Who could complain?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

